4E Progress: Irene the Assistant

Now for that Four Eyes progress update, as promised!  🙂 I’ve spent some more time working on the hint system, and now it’s functioning just how I wanted it to. Here’s a breakdown of how it works!

You may or may not have noticed in the demo that, after crashing the escape shuttle, Jett receives a comm transmitter. This didn’t do anything in the demo, but now, selecting it from the item menu…

game_2016-10-28_13-05-52

…will allow Jett to call Irene and ask for guidance on the current puzzle. An invisible value tracks the player’s progress in the game so that Irene will display the correct dialogue for whatever point they happen to have reached. Jett also explains to her what it is he’s trying to do before she offers her advice, just in case the player steps away from the game for a while and forgets what they were doing last time. For that reason, I decided to get rid of the journal system; a couple of lines of dialogue from Jett can serve as a refresher for what you were up to, so there’s no point in me spending all the time and effort necessary to flesh out the journal.

Sometimes, Irene will be friendly when helping you…

game_2016-10-24_13-32-47

…and other times, in true Irene fashion, she’ll insult Jett for needing her help.

My aim was to keep the dialogue entertaining and consistent with her sassy, sarcastic personality. It’s not meant to be a personal attack on the player – just a bit of extra humour blended with functionality.  😉

That’s not the only thing I’ve been working on, though! I also finished that CG I mentioned, and I’m working on the final couple of puzzles. Both are planned out at this point and one of them is partway through eventing. There’s an unexpected twist to one of them that I hope players will enjoy! It makes use of the character-switching system in a different way.

Once those are done, I’ll have one more sprite to make, plus the epilogues for both the normal and secret endings. I received a question on Tumblr about the difficulty of achieving the secret ending, and I’ll repost my answer here just in case anyone finds it interesting:

konoi-and-noir: I’m so excited about the progress on Four Eyes! I’ll be sure to play again and again until I discover both endings haha! Will the secret ending be very tricky to get, like a secret puzzle or room or whatever, or rather something you can figure out by your actions? If you can tell us, of course!

Thank you very much!!  🙂 Hmm…I guess it’s a little tricky, in that you have to go out of your way to do something you aren’t told to do. If people end up having a lot of trouble figuring it out then I’d be happy to release some hints or even a full guide on how to get it. There actually aren’t that many steps to it; you just have to do some extra things without prompting.

I hope that gives you some idea of what to expect from the secret ending! This game has taken me far longer than I had hoped to finish it, but the end is within sight. As always, I appreciate everyone sticking with me along this journey.  ❤ (Also, as a side note, Four Eyes’s demo recently passed the 500 download threshold. Thank you so, so much!! I was over the moon when I saw that!)

2 thoughts on “4E Progress: Irene the Assistant

  1. scaranpannoir says:

    (Lol honestly I just found out you had a WordPress a few seconds ago when I have been waiting for ages for a Four Eyes full version!!! I find it hilarious that I didn’t notice this sooner) WHOOOOOOOOOOOOOO I’m very very veryyyyyyy excited for the official release of the full version of this!!! I played this quite a long time ago, honestly, around a month or two after the Yaoi Jam was closed. I was gung-ho on waiting, reading the comments and, well, just basically waiting. And here I found all this stuff I didn’t even know about (hint device progress, hidden ending, etc) and now I’m more than ecstatic for an update! Keep up the great work!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Whiona says:

      Hey, thanks so much for your comment! I obviously ought to make this blog more visible if people don’t know about it, haha. I’m really happy that you’re looking forward to playing more and I’ll try posting a new update tonight or tomorrow for you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

