Change of Plans

If there’s one thing you should know about me, it’s that I often make impulsive decisions without fully thinking them through, and participating in Yuri Jam was one of those decisions. Granted, I thought I’d be done the full version of Four Eyes by now and my schedule would be clear, but I also realized that I just want to get back to work on Jubilee Royale as my main project as soon as possible. Because of that, and the fact that 4E is (sigh) still not finished, I won’t be doing Yuri Jam after all. I feel kind of silly for backing out after I dedicated a whole blog post to joining it and everything, but I guess that’ll teach me not to blog about my random impulses.

I did brainstorm a plot and design characters for my Yuri Jam game idea, which I don’t plan to discard entirely. I’m going to tuck them away for another game jam, or for the next time I get sick of working on JR exclusively. Three projects is just way too much, and I ought to have listened to the people who told me that in the first place. Oh well!

Now, onto the stuff that you likely want to hear: recent Four Eyes progress! Here’s the main stuff that I’ve done since the beginning of the month:

  • Designing and eventing the steps necessary to achieve the secret ending
  • Endgame cutscene eventing
  • NPC dialogue and eventing
  • CG art – as it stands, an endgame cutscene I’m working on just has some colouring left to go
  • Minor fixes, like repositioning Irene’s bust in some events

I had hoped to get more done this month, since I thought I’d have a lot of free time, but this has turned out to be my busiest September yet. Three major assignments and a trip out of town for my BF and I’s anniversary occupied a lot of my time. And now I’m sick…I should just accept at this point that life never slows down and I’ll always be busy. (Am I making sense? I’m kind of in a daze from these cold meds and I can’t tell.)

I’ve done some writing for Jubilee Royale this month, too, including both main cutscenes and Downtime events. I think I’m starting to get more comfortable with Aajia’s voice, and Vera is as fun to write as ever. Dromir is still kind of tricky to nail down…his dialogue needs a bit of revision, haha.

Sorry I don’t have any pictures to show this time around, by the way! We’re getting into spoilery territory, particularly with Four Eyes, so as much as I’d love to show some more screenshots, I kinda can’t. I realize that text-only posts are a little boring, so I’ll try to work on some more spoiler-free things to show off next time.

Leave a Reply

