Sprites and Screenshots Galore!

In under two hours, I’ll have hit the halfway point of Yaoi Jam, which is exciting and terrifying at the same time. I can’t seem to decide whether or not I’ve made enough progress so far. Things are moving along well, but there’s also so much left to do…

I’ve entered the eventing phase now, as I had wanted to by this point, so that’s good news. There’s still some work to do in terms of mapping and graphics, but I’ve decided to just make those things as I need them from here on out. That way, if I have to cut things short, I won’t have wasted my time on maps I don’t need.

Now I’m going to bombard you with a bunch of screenshots to give you a sense of how the game is shaping up!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here’s a look at the Jett, Toa, and Irene sprites in action. This was my first time making RPG Maker sprites from scratch. They’re not perfect, but I think they still turned out pretty cute! Forgive the fact that these GIFs are a little wonky timing-wise – I captured some Game Maker Hub previews with screen recording software instead of making proper GIFs because I’m lazy.

2016-06-26_20-36-47
2016-06-27_22-32-07
2016-06-27_18-14-14

My next major task is to build all the puzzles in the game. This is going to be pretty difficult for me, since I’ve never really tried it before, but I’m giving it my best shot! Hopefully they’ll sit in that sweet spot between frustratingly hard and unsatisfyingly easy. If not, though, I’m going to err on the side of simplicity, because this is meant to be more of a story-driven adventure game than a puzzle game per se.

That’s about it for this update! See you next time. Also, have a teeny sleeping Toa.

2016-06-29_22-48-48

Leave a Reply

