I’m Breaking My Own Rule

For the longest time, I’ve told myself that I’m only going to focus on one game at a time. (I know you can probably tell where this is going and you’re groaning already. All I have to say is that I’m sorry.) As a solo developer, it’s way too much to focus on more than one big project at a time – and that’s certainly not what I’m going to do.

…But a small side project might kinda sorta be happening for Yaoi Game Jam, starting tomorrow.

I know, I’m already being overly ambitious with Jubilee Royale and this only adds more to my plate, but it isn’t something I decided overnight. I’ve been thinking about joining a game jam for a long time, and for various reasons.

  1. It’ll be great for my reputation if I have a finished game out there, even if it’s a small one, because it’ll demonstrate to others that I can stick to my commitments and see a project through to the end. Jubilee Royale is a full-length RPG, so it’s likely going to take me several more years to completely finish it. Unless I put out a short project before that, why should anyone feel confident that I’ll complete JR?
  2. I’ll get to work on the polishing and publishing aspects of game development, with which I have little experience. (I spoke to a couple of devs with pro experience, and they recommended that I do a game jam before releasing a big project for this reason.)
  3. I am honestly really nervous about publishing the JR demo when that time comes, since I’ve never publicly released a game before. If this project doesn’t turn out to be total crap, then I’m hoping that will give me a confidence boost.

This game jam in particular is a good one for me to join since it’s a little more generous with the time frame. Two months should be enough for me to put out a short, simple game without totally putting JR on hold. It’s only meant to be a side project, after all – I still want time to work on JR over the next couple of months.

As for what the currently-unnamed project is? It’s an adventure game set in the future about a spaceship captain and a sleepy alien who crash-land on an uninhabited planet. Aliens and humans are at war, but they’ll have to set their differences aside and work together in order to find help and get back up in space. It won’t be as fancy as JR or have as many features, nor will it include any combat. It’ll be a short and sweet experience, hopefully with some fun dialogue and character designs for you to enjoy, plus a little exploration and puzzle-solving. 🙂

So, let’s hope I’ll be able to pull this off and you’ll get to play an actual game from me by July 31st! Until then, I’ll keep updating this blog with progress I make on both that and Jubilee Royale – expect an update on one of the two sometime next week. I still haven’t decided on an update schedule, though…oh well.

Leave a Reply

