Royal Music and Maps, Plus Goal-Setting

Okay, time for an actual update! I had really wanted to get a couple of new character portraits done (the fifth party member and main villain) but I don’t anticipate finishing them before the end of the week, so I decided to just go ahead and post this. You’ll definitely see them in the next update.

The first thing I’m going to talk about is a major feature that I haven’t yet mentioned – original music! I wasn’t sure if this was going to be possible or not, but now that I have my new software set up, I know for sure that it’s doable. I most likely won’t be composing the entire game myself – that would just add way too much time onto development. Instead, I’ll be composing original themes for key areas and events, as well as probably all of the battles. For minor areas and events, I’ll likely be using royalty-free or purchased music.

Here’s a short first piece I’ve composed for the game, which will be used in the opening cutscene. I’ve taken a course in digital music composition, but I still have a lot to learn, so I’m totally open to constructive criticism on my music (as well as anything else I do for this game). Feel free to leave any feedback that you have in the comments!

Next, I’ve been working on mapping the interior of Cybil’s castle.

I told myself I wasn’t going to parallax the place because it would take too long, and then… ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

I’ve also fancied up the logo a little with some gradients and a nice underline. I initially made a version of it with a double outline, which looked great when the logo was large, but not-so-readable when it was small. Just a white border it is!

jr logo3

Everything from this point onward is a bit rambly, so you can stop reading now if you’re only interested in new content. It mostly has to do with personal goal-setting and what I’d like to do for the demo.

I want to start updating this blog with more regularity once my schedule allows for it – ie. once my exams are over. (Only one left!) Before now, my personal goal had been to work on at least one thing for Jubilee Royale every week. It’s a modest goal, I know, but I figured it’s best to start small. Since I started keeping a work log near the end of January, I have met this goal every time – okay, except for the week after Fire Emblem: Fates came out – and I almost always end up doing more than one task for the game. That’s great news for me personally, since it’s a sign that I’m beating my awful procrastination habit, but I also felt it was time to up the ante.

Starting this week, I’ve upgraded my goal to working on at least one thing for Jubilee Royale every day, with exceptions if I go on a trip, am in poor health, etc. I obviously won’t be able to complete something every time I sit down to work on it, but chipping away is how you get things done, right? That would also mean that I’ll be making more regular progress, which in turn means I can make more regular entries here. It’s too soon to say what kind of update schedule I’ll adopt, but I’d really like to get consistent with it.

I recently made a Trello board for the project to help me get more organized and focus in on everything I’ll need for the demo. At this point, the demo will likely include the prologue and first two chapters of the game – maybe a bit of the third, just because there’s one city that I’d really like players to see. (There are eleven chapters total, which sounds like a lot, but they’re actually pretty small chunks of the story.) I figure that’s long enough to show off many of the major characters and features, but not so long that it would be a total hassle to replay all of that once the full version of the game is released. Save files may or may not be able to carry over – I’m looking into it at the moment.

As for when it would come out…I’m going to say that, unfortunately, it looks like a 2017 demo release date is likely. I know, I know, that’s a long way away, but there are so many assets I still need to make, not to mention all the…y’know…gameplay. Maybe I’ll work my buns off and get it done by the end of this year, but I’m not confident that it’ll happen. I’d rather surprise people by releasing it early than let them down by releasing it late. (Luckily, a lot of the stuff I need to make for the demo will carry over into the rest of the game, so development will move a lot quicker once all of that is done. It’s just a lot of set-up work, if I’m making any sense here.)

Before I sign off, I’d just like to take a moment to say thanks so much to the people who have expressed their interest in this project so far, whether by replying on RPG Maker Central, following on Twitter or Tumblr, or subscribing to this blog. It truly means the world to me! Making Jubilee Royale has been my dream since I was fourteen, so it feels pretty amazing that people actually want to follow me as I work toward achieving it.

That’s it for this update. Time to crush my last exam and then get back to work on those new characters!

2 thoughts on “Royal Music and Maps, Plus Goal-Setting

Leave a Reply

