Hello from Opal Starlight!

Jubilee Royale has been in the works for the better part of 2015, and with the end of the year approaching I figured it was about time I at least made a blog entry here. So, welcome to Opal Starlight’s website! There isn’t a whole lot to see right now, but over the next couple of months I will be fleshing out this site with more screenshots, artwork, and information.

I guess I should introduce myself. You can call me Whiona. I’m currently a third year English and Creative Writing student. I have been telling stories for pretty much my whole life, drawing since elementary school, and developing games since middle school. I started out by making crummy platformers in Game Maker, and I dabbled a little in Ren’Py shortly afterward. In high school I discovered RPG Maker thanks to a dear friend of mine (with a super cool upcoming game that you can check out, BTW) and decided that making an RPG was something I desperately wanted to do. They’re my favourite genre of game, and I love how the process of making one combines so many different forms of creativity.

Opal Starlight is the name of my little one-woman studio, which I came up with in and around July of this year. The first game that I’m developing under this name is an RPG called Jubilee Royale. It’s a game that I’ve been dreaming of making since 2010, but I constantly put it off because I was focused on cosplay, real life was hectic, and I lacked confidence in my own abilities. Back in January of this year, I decided that enough was enough, and that if I kept waiting until I was “good enough” to make JR, it would never be finished. I already feel like I’ve improved from working on it, which in turn has made me more confident, so there you go!

Making JR is definitely a slow process, seeing as I’m working alone and I’m producing a lot of custom content for it, but I think it will be worth it in the end. It’s nice to dedicate myself to one big project that involves many of my hobbies. I can’t wait to show you what I’ve been working on, and I hope that you’ll follow me on this journey! Just know that it’s going to be a long one.

That’s it for this first entry. Sorry that there isn’t a whole lot of information about JR itself here – I mostly just wanted to talk about the background of Opal Starlight and why I’m doing this. Once I’m all done fixing up the site, I’ll post another entry explaining the basic story and major features of Jubilee Royale. Until then, I hope that your 2016 gets off to a great start!

Leave a Reply

